Fajita Quesadillas

I have found that Mexican dishes are pretty dang easy to make vegetarian, so I’ll probably be eating a lot of it from now on, which frankly isn’t hurting my feelings one bit. I should have married a Mexican man so that my mother in law could teach me all of the goodness that is tamales, tacos, and enchiladas. That’s my love language right there.

Quesadillas are a crowd pleaser and my house and we often make Chicken and bean quesadillas. For Vegetarian week, I decided to make up my own thing completely, mixing two of my favorite dishes together: Fajita Quesadillas!

Ingredients:

  • mushrooms
  • 3 red peppers
  • 2 green peppers
  • half of a huge walla walla sweet onion (or Vidalia)
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • tortillas
  • cheese
  • black beans, precooked and rinsed
  • a few tablespoons of avocado oil
  • a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
  • sea salt/pepper to taste

IMG_4153Directions:

  1. Get a sauté pan going on medium heat. Add a tablespoon of avocado oil, and  get the mushrooms, peppers, onions and oil sautéing. Add Worcestershire sauce. IMG_4154
  2. After the onions are caramelized and everything is smelling amazing, take off the heat and let the veggies rest while you start the quesadillas.
  3. In another pan, get some more avocado oil heating up on medium. Put one tortilla down. Add cheese, beans and fajita veggies and put a tortilla on top. Cook until golden brown on both sides. IMG_4156
  4. Remove from heat, let cool a couple mintues. Cut with a pizza cutter. Serve with Guac and Pico De Gallo!

IMG_4157

Enjoy!

20140610-132304-48184332.jpg

One thought on “Fajita Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Veg Week: Day Two | Blessed Route

Leave a comment