Taco Salad

This is one of my favorite meals ever! Its also extremely easy to put together, taking literally a few minutes! I often do this meal before church on Saturday evenings or on a weeknight when I have NO time.

This meal starts with prepping the ground beef with homemade taco seasoning. If you’ve ever looked at the package of Taco Seasoning you get from the grocery store, you will find a lot of chemicals mixed in with the seasonings. I am not a big fan of that, so I decided to make my own Taco Seasoning!

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Recipe for Taco Seasoning:
1 Cup Chili Pepper
1/2 Cup Cumin
1/4 Cup Onion Powder
1/4 Cup Oregano
2 Tablespoons Garlic Powder
2 Tablespoons Paprika
2 Tablespoons Crushed Red Pepper Flakes (more if you like the heat)
1 Tablespoon Sea Salt
a few dashes of Cayenne pepper (after all, my kiddos aren’t a big fan of heat)

Put ingredients in a pint canning jar and shake! Easy Peasy! The batch that this recipe produces has lasted me FOREVER!

So onto the Taco Salad! First I’d like to give Fred Meyer’s Grocery Store a huge thumbs up! For the first time in any major chain grocery store I found this beautiful little package.

Grass Fed Ground Beef

Grass Fed Organic Ground Beef

Grass Fed Organic Beef!! WOW! Way to go Fred Meyers! You are amazing!! I see organic beef ALL the time, and yes Organic Beef is a little bit better than regular beef, but Grass Fed Beef is the best you can eat! I will reserve this topic for another post because I could talk about this forever. All I will say is it was $7 a pound, which is a little crazy, but I was thankful to see this in stores. HUGE step in the right direction.

TACO SALAD:
Ingredients:
1 pound of Grass Fed Beef
2 tablespoons of taco seasoning mix
1 lettuce head shredded
1 tomato, diced
1 bunch of green onions, sliced
1 can of black olives, sliced
1 small bag of shredded medium cheddar cheese
1 4oz of tomato sauce
2 tablespoons Organic Thousand Island Dressing

Directions:
Brown the beef in the skillet, and add the taco seasoning. Once completely cooked through, put in a container in the fridge to cool it down. While the beef is cooling, get a big bowl out to assemble salad. Put lettuce, tomato, green onions, black olives, and shredded cheese in the big bowl and mix. Empty can of tomato sauce into the salad mixture. Add thousand island and mix again. Once beef is cooled down enough, put it in the salad and mix. Garnish with some Organic Tortillas chips. YUMMMM

Taco Salad

Taco Salad

This is JUST enough for my family of 6. Soon I will have to adjust this recipe for a bigger quantity.You can put this salad into a tortilla wrap and eat as a burrito as well. That is what my kids like best. I just like it straight up! I hope you enjoy! Tomorrow I’m making Philly Cheese Steak stuffed Bell Peppers!!

One thought on “Taco Salad

Leave a comment